Mamasita

Mamasita Melbourne

I’m no expert on Mexican food, and I haven’t spent a lot of time in Melbourne, but in my less-than-a-week trip in June I ate here twice and was a total convert.  A door-in-the-wall place, Mamasita’s decor is simple – all the energy goes into the food here. I was tempted by the ox tongue & cheek and prawn tacos, and was rewarded for experimenting.  The prawns were beautifully spicy, and the ox meat was melty and tender.  On my second visit I branched out and tried the street-style chargrilled corn, which was doused in cheese and came alive with a drizzle of lime. I then moved on to the steak taco (my favourite apart from the prawn) and chorizo quesadillas stuffed with potato and cheese. Both meals were quick far tastier than I thought Mexican was, and very filling.  I can see where Mamasita gets its reputation from! Check it out if you can grab a table.

Mamasita, Level 1/11 Collins St, Melbourne               http://www.mamasita.com.au/

Mamasita on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

