The Cupping Room

The Cupping Room Canberra 2

I met a friend visiting from Sydney for breakfast at The Cupping Room for the first time in a long time – I love eating there at breakfast time when the sunlight is streaming in! Our waitress was very friendly and happily directed me to the fresh juices to start – I chose the strawberry, apple, basil, and lime – when it arrived it looked like summer in a glass, and tasted just as refreshing. There was probably a bit too much ice for my liking, but the flavours were well-balanced and worked really well together. I chose the Heirloom Tomatoes for a lighter breakfast, and my it looked incredible on arrival – shiny, fresh tomatoes on a bed of quinoa, corn, craisins (cranberries crossed with raisins), fetta, and pepitas. The serving was large but everything was quite light and I was full but not bloated by the end. There was a great mix of textures and the craisins added lovely sweet highlights, while the pepitas had the crunch factor. The tomatoes weren’t particularly tasty themselves, but in combination with the other ingredients, including the raw onion (beware those going straight to work afterwards), they contributed to a fresh, light, dish that I would happily order again.

P.S. congratulations to Sasa Sestic for his victory in the World Barista Championships!

The Cupping Room, 1/13 University Ave, Canberra ACT  http://www.thecuppingroom.com.au/

The Cupping Room on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “The Cupping Room

  1. I covered The Cupping Room a few posts ago so was curious to see what you tried – next time I’d recommend the “avo & his mates” dish!

    Like

  2. Thanks, I’ll definitely try that one next time! The burgers in your post looked great too! It’s such a nice place, I should try to stop in more often.

    Like

Leave a Reply

