Pepper Lunch

Pepper Lunch Canberra

I dined as a guest of Pepper Lunch; all opinions are my own. Pepper Lunch has brought its sizzling-plate Japanese food to Canberra! I was super excited to attend their launch event – if only we could find it! After wandering up and down Bunda Street, we finally spotted the store next to Oliver Brown, and it was on like Donkey Kong. I started out with a bowl of miso soup ($3.50), with a beautifully salty white miso and seaweed, plus silken and fried tofu inside (yum!). The staff were friendly and welcoming as they brought out our meals, explaining that the plate is served at 260 degrees (what?!), and that before eating the giant rib-eye steak ($24.90) I’d ordered, I needed to slather their specialty pepper butter over my meat. Ok, if I must! The rib-eye was sizzling hot, and pre-sliced for ease of enjoyment. The meat was beautifully tender (I could cut thinner pieces with chopsticks alone), with great marbling, and the beauty of the hot plate is being able to cook it to your liking without a long wait. I really loved the pepper flavour from the butter – it added so much to the beef – and the vegies broke up the meal nicely. Pepper Lunch opens today – check it out!

Pepper Lunch, 88-96 Bunda Street (next to Oliver Brown) Canberra, http://www.pepperlunch.com.au/

Pepper Lunch Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

5 responses to “Pepper Lunch

  1. I absolutely love Pepper Lunch! I had it in Hong Kong once and now without any locations nearby, I’ve resorted to copying their sizzling plate of meat/rice/corn/cheese at home. It’s not the same, but it’s good enough until one ever opens up in Los Angeles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Pepper Lunch | Adventures in Winterland

Leave a Reply

