Peña

pena-ba

Happy 2017! In honour of friends moving to Argentina soon, it’s #parillaweek! What’s a parilla, I hear you ask? It’s an Argentine steakhouse, that’s what. So, here we go. Parilla Peña is billed as an authentic local steak experience, and it certainly lives up to that reputation. Staffed by all male waiters and with an unpretentious, giant grill by the door, I knew I was in for a treat. Of couse, I over-ordered for one, starting with a chorizo (ARS $40) and then picking the bife de chorizo (rump, ARS $220) as my main cut. Before my chorizo arrived, a cheese empanada was provided as a starter on the house, served cold. It was tasty, but I held back from that (and the bread) to save room for the main event. The chorizo was lovely, although not the best I’d have in BA, but the bife de chorizo was utterly divine. It was huge (larger than my hand), and cooked to perfection with the red blush of a true medium-rare steak. The meat just melted in my mouth, tender and so full of flavour you can’t even imagine. I did end up cutting off a fair amount of fat, but the portion was so large I left about a quarter uneaten (not for want of trying). I couldn’t believe the value – such a top quality steak for roughly AUD $20?! Unimaginable in Australia.

Pena, Rodríguez Pena 682, 1020 CABA, Argentina, http://www.parrillapenia.url.ph/

Leave a Reply

