Teddy Picker’s

The last time I went to Teddy Picker’s I felt a bit unwell, so didn’t end up ordering my dish of choice – the Brekky Roll ($15) with crumbed brisket, ‘red eye’ mayo, pickled jalapenos shallots and a fried egg – but I rectified the situation this visit. Firstly, what I love about Teddy Picker’s is the non-traditional breakfast options. Sure, other places have more choices, but you’re going to encounter unusual flavours here, which shows their understanding of the Canberra market. The Brekky Roll is a perfect example. No bacon here – the crumbed brisket is fried to crispness on the outside, leaving the meat within tender and moist, so that the overall effect is a texture party in your mouth. I love that the meat is a little bit sweet from the slow cooking, and this works perfectly with the tangy mayo slathered on top. I am a huge fan of the deep fried shallots (so much crunch!) and whilst jalapeno isn’t your typical breakfast accompaniment, the pickled version used here adds so much flavour, I couldn’t imagine the dish without them. My only gripe was that the egg wasn’t positioned to ooze into the roll (it went all over the plate instead, such a waste), but I think I’ll just have to go back and perfect my technique.

Teddy Picker’s, 65 Constitution Avenue, Campbell ACT, http://www.teddypickers.com.au/

One response to “Teddy Picker’s

Leave a Reply

